Virginia will join 13 other states and the District of Columbia that have banned texting while driving.
The new law, passed by the General Assembly, will take effect July 1.
Starting Wednesday, text messaging while driving in the state of Virginia will be illegal for all drivers.
Those who text or e-mail while driving can receive a $20 fine or $50 for a second offense, though drivers can only receive a citation if they were pulled over for another violation.
The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration reports driver inattention was a factor in 80 percent of all crashes.
Safe driving advocates say texting or e-mailing while driving significantly increases the chances of getting into a crash.
The law makes an exception for those reporting an emergency.
Emergency responders, like paramedics and police officers, are also exempt.