Facebook users are about to have even less privacy on the social networking site.
The website is getting rid of a privacy setting that allows members to hide their profiles from anyone who wanted to see them.
"People told us that they found it confusing when they tried looking for someone who they knew personally and couldn't find them in search results, or when two people were in a Facebook Group and then couldn't find each other through search," Facebook said.
Users will still have the option to block specific people, but now anything they post on Facebook or anything they comment about could turn up in a search. That means it could easily be seen by strangers.
For those concerned about the changes, Facebook suggests limiting the "audience of posts" by doing the following:
- Share each post with the people you want to be able to see it. You control this every time you post.
- Use Activity Log to review individual things you've already shared. Here you can delete things you may not want to appear on Facebook anymore, untag photos, and change the privacy of past posts.
- Ask friends and others to remove anything they may have shared about you that you don't want on the site. You can do this by reaching out to the person directly, or using the reporting feature, also available in Activity Log.